About SWITCH Africa Green

SWITCH Africa Green is being implemented in 6 countries: Burkina Faso, Ghana, Kenya, Mauritius, South Africa and Uganda where the EU supports a number of projects and initiatives under the national development plan and national indicative programmes. The overall objective of SWITCH Africa Green is to support the 6 countries in Africa to achieve sustainable development by engaging in transition towards an inclusive green economy.   

Priority Sectors

  • Agriculture
  • Tourism
  • Manufacturing
  • Intergrated Waste Management
Agriculture contributes 4% to South Africa’s gross domestic product (GDP) and consists largely of cattle and sheep farming, with only 13% of land used for growing crops. The government is working to
Tourism plays a relatively moderate but growing role in the economy of Ghana. In spite of the substantial growth of the tourism industry over the past fifteen years, the true wealth‐creating and
The proposed focal areas/activities for manufacturing are water efficiency programmes, vehicular emissions, solar and wind energy manufacturing strategies, regulations on blending of biofuels, and an
The proposed focal areas/activities for Integrated Waste Management are capacity building for key institutions to foster adoption of SCP practices, introduction and implementation of SCP practices in



Project Coverage

Calls for proposals

European Development Days 2017


Click on the image to download the Quarterly Report: (October - December 2016)  
Subscribe To SAG Newsletter


SWITCH-Africa Green is implemented by UNEP with the assistance of the European Union. The contents of this website are the sole responsibility of the Project partners.